• 0 Items - $0.00
    • No products in the cart.

Meet the Authors

Ivana Šojat

Ivana Šojat was born in Osijek, Croatia in 1971. She spent several years in Belgium, where she obtained a university degree in French language and literature. She is a novelist, a poet, an essayist and a literary translator. Her works include collections of poetry Hiperbole (Hyperboles, 2000), Uznesenja (Ascensions, 2003), Utvare (Phantoms, 2005), Sofija plaštevima mete samoću (Sofija Sweeps Up Loneliness With Her Capes, 2009) and Ljudi ne znaju šutjeti (People Don’t Know How to Keep Their Mouth Shut, 2016), collections of short stories Kao pas (Like a Dog, 2006), Mjesečari (Sleepwalkers, 2008), Ruke Azazelove (Azazel’s Hands, 2011) and Emet i druge priče (Emet and Other Stories), novels Šamšiel (Shamshiel, 2002), Unterstadt (2009), Ničiji sinovi (Nobody’s Sons, 2012), Jom Kipur (Yom Kippur, 2014) and Ezan (The Adhan, 2018). For her novel Unterstadt (2009) she received Vladimir Nazor literary award, Ksaver Šandor Gjalski literary award for the best novel, Fran Galović award, Josip Kozarac and Ivan Kozarac awards for the book of the year.


Author's books

Unterstadt – A Novel




The novel Unterstadt tells the story of an urban family of German origin living in Osijek from the end of the nineteenth till the end of the twentieth century. It is narrated through the portrayal of the destinies of four generations of women – a great grandmother, a grandmother, mother, and a daughter – their shattered illusions, the education of their children, the historical events that brutally lash out at them.